Voltarol - related music

Saturday, 17 September 2011

Play list for Wednesday 14th 2011

Adventures in the Din Trade (series 2) Wednesday 14th September 2011

 Andei (theme tune)

1. ZIZI POSSI – Bom Dia 3.21
Benjamin Taubkin Roland JV1000, Jether Garotti - piano, Guello – percussion
From ‘Valsa Brasiliera’ 1993

2. DALLA – King Harry Ferry Furry/Tregajorran Furry 5.40
Neil Davey – bouzouki, mandolin, fiddle, accordion, percussion; Hilary Coleman – clarinet, vocal, percussion; Simon Lockley-Brown – guitar, percussion. From the album ‘A Richer Vein’, 2001

3. CAROL JARVIS – Sang Til Lotta 6.23
Composed by Jan Sangström. From the Album ‘Smile’ 2010 (proceeds to Macmillan Cancer Support)

4. JIM HALL/ BILL SMITH – A-Roving 4.12
Originally from ‘Folk Jazz’ 1959. Hall – guitar, Bill Smith – clarinet, Monty Budwig – bass, Shelly Manne – drums. Reissued by AVID Jazz in their classic albums series. 3 albums plus 7additional tracks as a double CD reissue for under a fiver!

5. JIMMY GIUFFRE – Four Brothers – 3.12
Giuffre – tenor & baritone saxes, clarinet; Bud Shank – alto sax; Jack Sheldon – trumpet; Shorty Rogers – flugel horn; Bob Enevoldson – valve trombone; Ralph Peña – bass; Shelly Manne – drums.  Originally from ‘Jimmy Giuffre’ 1954. Reissued by AVID on ‘Four Classic Albums plus… AMSC 948

6. JIMMY GIUFFRE – Crazy She Calls Me 4.15
Giuffre – clarinet, Jim Hall – guitar, Ralph Peña – bass. Originally from ‘The Train and the River’ 1956. Also now on the AVID double.

7. JIM HALL & PAT METHENY – Cold Spring 6.29
Hall and Metheny – guitars. Live recording from the album ‘Jim Hall & Pat Metheny 1999

8. RALPH VAUGHAN WILLIAMS – Norfolk Rhapsody No 1 in E minor 11.48
London Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Bryden Thomas – Chandos label.
(Based on two folk songs)

9. JOSÉ ORLANDO – Morena da Palmeira (The Brunette of Palmeira) 2.39
From ‘Brazil Forró – Music for Maids and Taxi Drivers’ 1989.

10. CESAR CAMARGO MARIANO – Cantareira (Dish Rack) 3.37
From the album Cesar Camargo Mariano & Cia 1980

11. SILVIA NICOLATTO – Curva do Rio 3.10
From the album ‘Alem dos Gestos’ (Besides the Gestures)

12. FLAVIO VENTURINI – São Tomé 4.19
From the EMI ‘Hemisphere’ compilation ‘Brazil Blue’ issued in 1993

13. LULA GALVÃO – Change Partners and Dance with Me 6.27
By Irving Berlin.  Galvão – guitar, Fernando Moraes – piano, Sergio Barrozo – bass, Rafael Barata – percussion. From the album ‘Bossa da Minha Terra’ ( Bossas of my Country’ 2008

14. GILBERTO GIL – Dança de Shiva 3.45
From ‘Quanta’ 1997

15. PAUL SIMON – Late in the Evening 4.02
From ‘One Trick Pony’ 1980. Simon – guitar and vocal, Richard Tee – keyboards, Eric Gale – guitar, Tony Levin – bass, Steve Gadd – drums.

Sunday, 11 September 2011

Voltarol on the radio again...

I'm finding the evening slot a much more relaxed one than the old Thursday afternoon show - there seems to be much less pressure because mine is the last live show of the day. Mind you, the next few weeks are going to be pretty busy for me as Silvia Nicolatto arrives in the country next weekend and there will be some serious rehearsals, followed by a series of gigs and two days in the recording studio. Nevertheless, I hope to bring you some interesting shows during that period. Here are the details of last Wednesday's show.

Adventures in the Din Trade (new season) Wednesday 7th September 2011

 Andei (theme tune)

1. BELA FLECK & THE FLECKTONES – Storm Warning 7.58

Bela Fleck – composer and banjos, Howard Levy – diatonic harmonica and piano, Victor Lemonte Wooton – electric bass, Futureman (otherwise known as Roy Wooten) –‘Drumitar’ with simultaneous acoustic drums and percussion.
From ‘Rocket Science’ 2011

2. PAUL SIMON – Getting Ready for Christmas Day 4.06

Paul Simon –vocals, electric guitar, percussion, Edie Brickell – background harmony, Rev J.M. Gates with congregation –sermon and calland response, Vincent Nguini –electric and acoustic rhythm guitars, Jim Oblon – drums.
From ‘So Beautiful or So What’ 2011

(Composed by Buddy Collette)
4. CHICO HAMILTON QUINTET – The Morning After 2.07
(Composed by Chico Hamilton)

Chico Hamilton – drums, Carson Smith –bass, Jim Hall – guitar, Fred Katz – cello, Buddy Collette – flute, clarinet, alto & tenor saxes.
From ‘The Chico Hamilton Quintet featuring Buddy Collette’ 1955

Re-released by AVID Jazz in their classic albums series. Double CD with three albums and 7 additional tracks. AMSC949. Under a fiver!

5. PABLO CASALS – Prelude, J.S.Bach: cello suite no 3 in C major 3.30

Originally recorded in 1936. Reissued by Naxos as a double CD: J.S.Bach: Cello Suites 1-6. Great Cellists series – Pablo Casals

6. DOM UM ROMÃO – Pra Que Chorar 4.40

From ‘Hotmosphere’ originally released 1976. CD reissue 1998. Pablo Records
Either Mauricio Smith or Lou de Gallo – flute solo, Sivuca – accordion and voice solo, Dom Salvador – piano solo, Dom um Romão – drums, Ron Carter – bass, with the voices of Julie Janeiro, Gloria Oliveira & Sivuca

7. ANOUAR BRAHEM – The Astounding Eyes of Rita 8.41

Anouar Brahem – oud, Klaus Gesing – bass clarinet, Bjorn Meyer – bass, Khaled Yassina – darbouka & bender.
From the album ‘The Astounding Eyes of Rita’ ECM 2008

8. GARY BURTON – Leroy the Magician 6.08

From ‘Good Vibes’ originally released 1969 on Atlantic and reissued on CD on the Collectable label in 2006. Burton – vibes, electric vibes, piano and organ; Bernard Purdie – drums; Chuck Rainey or Steve Swallow – bass; Sam Brown, Jerry Hahn or Eric Gale – guitar; Richard Tee – piano & organ (?)

9. JIM HALL – 9.20 special 5.41

From ‘Jazz Guitar: The Jim Hall Trio’. First issued 1957.
Jim Hall – guitar, Carl Perkins, piano (no, not that Carl Perkins), Red Mitchell – bass

Another re-release by AVID Jazz in their classic albums series. Double CD with three albums and 6 additional tracks. AMSC 1033. Under a fiver!


Music by me lyrics by Silvia. Voice mixed and recorded in São Paulo by Rodrigo de Castro Lopes, September 2011. Original recording made at the Bunker, Coverack 2001.
Claudia Colmer – bass, Pip Harben – drums, Max Turnbull – piano and me – guitar.

11. PETE TURNER/RICHARD AYERST – Ilha Grande Suite 16.50

Written by me with the exception of the batucada section, which was written by Richard Ayerst and the following section ‘At the Forro With Eloi’ which was co-written by Richard and me. It was recorded in 1995 at Woodshed Studio, Illogan. Sequencing by me and Richard Ayerst. Guitar, guitar synth and triangle.

Saturday, 3 September 2011

New season on the radio...another gig at Hayle

Adventures in the Din Trade - the Radio Show - starts a new season this coming Wednesday evening at 9.30 pm on The Source 96.1 fm. at 9.30 pm. At last, "the late night show that - for your convenience - comes to you in the afternoon" is actually a late (ish) night show. I shall be reviewing some new releases, playing some of my own stuff and generally enjoying myself. If you want to catch the show on line then see 'Voltarol recommends' (right hand side of page) for a link.

On Friday, Que Belo Castelo are back at the Cornish Arms 86 Commercial Road, Hayle TR27 4DJ01736 753237 . Kick-off is at 9 pm so if you can make it we'll be glad to see you!

In the meantime I continue to work on the Silvia Nicolatto project. I have also set up a My Space page which might be of interest to you.